Thomas Böttger

Born: 15. August 1957 in Neustrelitz (Germany)

First composition: at the age of nine

Studies: In Berlin at the University of Music „Hanns Eisler“(Master degree). In Warsaw (Poland) at the

Academy of Music „Frédéric Chopin“ with the composer Tadeuz Baird- Master pupil at the Academy of Arts Berlin (1981-1983)

Winner of some compositions including the „Hanns-Eisler Price“ by German Radio (1978)

Major works: - 2 piano concertos

- concertino for oboe and string-orchestra

- 5 Rilke-songs for high voice and orchestra

(written for Sarolta Kodály)

- Nocturne for 14 strings

- „Hommage à Wagner“ for chamber orchestra

- stringquartett

- visions for cello and piano

(written for Miklós Perényi)

- „Città del futuro“

(written for Michael Massong)

- 2 poems for saxophon and piano

(written for John Edward-Kelly)

and several works for solo piano and varios chamber-ensembles.

As pianist he played in several countries and on festivals (like Kuhmo in Finland, Assisi in Italy, „Kodály Festival“ in Hungary and „Music Sommer of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern“ in Germany).

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better.